Candy Pie

One quick note!  I have a 10 month old today!  Crazy how fast it goes!

Sweet 10 month old!

Sweet 10 month old!

Eric let’s food go to waste.  Does that really surprise anyone?  It bothers me the most when he lets candy go to waste though.  Every year I give Eric a bag of Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, my mom gives him some Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups, and sometimes he gets some other candy from my side of the family too.  So I had a plan after this holiday season to make sure at least some of Eric’s Christmas candy was eaten.  I looked up dessert recipes that use Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups.  Beyond using up some of Eric’s candy, it’s also nice to use them because I don’t like peanut butter (Sacrilegious…I know!), and it would help me stay on my diet.

Even though I was using his candy, Eric didn’t get much of a say in this plan other than to decide what kind of dessert he wanted.  He picked a pie.  I was hoping he’d say brownies, but pie works too.  So I came across this recipe from Mrs. Claus’s cookbook.  How appropriate is that since I was using Christmas candy?!

Again I forgot to take pictures while I was making it, even though I did think about it!  (And forgot again!) At least I got one after I finished though.

Eric's yummy (for him) dessert this week!

Eric’s yummy (for him) dessert this week!

It was pretty simple it probably only took 15-20 minutes to wrap up, and Eric gave it the thumbs up after he ate it for dessert at lunch on Monday. So if you need to get rid of some Reese’s cups or just want a peanut butter pie, it’s a good recipe.

Get Rid of the Candy Pie (adapted from northpole.com)

  • 1 (8 oz) package cream cheese
  • 1 cup peanut butter (I used smooth and would recommend it)
  • 8 oz Cool Whip (the recipe originally called for 12 oz but I bought the wrong size.  I think any more would have really overflowed my crust)
  • 3/4 cup white sugar
  • 1 store bought or homemade graham cracker crust
  • 15 miniature Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups (I added more than the recipe called for to get rid of more candy!)
  1. Combine the cream cheese, peanut butter and sugar until well mixed.
  2. Fold in the cool whip by hand
  3. Cut up 5 peanut butter cups sprinkle across the bottom of the crust
  4. Spread half the peanut butter/cream cheese mixture in the crust
  5. Cut up and sprinkle 5 more peanut butter cups on top of the mixture.
  6. Spread the rest of the peanut butter/cream cheese mixture into the pie crust
  7. Top with the rest of your cut up peanut butter cups.
  8. Refrigerate until solid.

That’s it.  Easy and evidently tasty according to Eric, and he still has some peanut butter cups left!

2 thoughts on “Candy Pie

Leave a Reply

