Kitchen Changes

Ahhhh…back to writing and back to being at home.  I was in Ann Arbor the last 3ish days for work.  I missed Guster and Tyler horribly, so I’m so happy to be home tonight.  I played with Tyler most of tonight, and now I have Guster curled up next to me on the couch, so life is back to normal.  Eric and I are leaving for a weekend with friends on Friday though, so I’m spending a lot of time away for my boys (other than Eric) this week.  As much as I missed them, it was awfully nice not to have to worry about getting up in the middle of the night the past 2 nights though! 🙂

Now on to our big changes of last week…our new appliances!  They look pretty amazing.  We were supposed to get them on February 1st, but the dishwasher wasn’t available then, so the 8th it was.  It was worth the wait though.  We bought the appliances online from Home Depot before the end of January.  The deal they had going on ended at the end of January.  It was 10% off the cost, but it really cut down the price quite a bit.  I think we both would have preferred to actually talk to a salesperson to get our questions answered as we were ordering, but it seemed like it would take us less time to take care of it at home than deal with the people at Home Depot.  The other issue was that Home Depot online has a much wider selection than in the store, which was really important with our somewhat strange kitchen arrangement.  Mostly having the fridge right next to a wall made it a little harder to find a fridge that would open enough to get into the drawers.

The new appliances

The new appliances

Our new oven/range is a Samsung.  It’s a convection oven which I can definitely tell a difference in how evenly it bakes.  So far I’ve baked some chicken and cookies in it, and they’ve both turned out really well.  Having a light in there is a nice change since the other broke shortly after Eric moved into the house.  The new dishwasher is a Whirlpool.  We haven’t actually run it yet since I was gone earlier in the week, so no cooking took place.  Even though we had the appliances installed, Eric had to do a little repair on the drain because of size differences between the old and new drains.  We’re both waiting to see how quietly it runs and also not having to push the button multiple times before it actually starts and being able to use the delay feature.  There’s a lot left to figure out with the dishwasher yet!  The fridge is an LG, and it is the most amazing appliance I’ve ever had in my entire life.  I think it’s changed my life! (That might be a slight exaggeration…)  It has an ice maker and water dispenser in the door.  I don’t have to bend over to get into the fridge.  I’m not sure how I feel about the drawer on the bottom for the freezer yet, but it’s just so roomy and awesome at this point.

Now we’re trying to decide what is next for our kitchen.  We’re definitely going to be doing something with the floor (since it doesn’t come clean anymore), adding a backsplash, and figuring out something to do with the ugly counters.  The appliances were a good start though.  Seeing that change we can’t wait to see what other changes we can make to the kitchen!

Leave a Reply

