Fiddlin’ Around

This weekend was the weekend I’d been waiting for for a very long time.  It was the Dierks Bentley and Miranda Lambert concert!  Dierks is one of mine and Eric’s favorite artists.  I had seen him as the headliner many years ago in Springfield with Shelley.  We were in the general admission area for that one, and it was my favorite concert I had been too.  Shelley touched Dierks…twice, and I got a guitar pick.  Beyond that, Dierks just put on a really good show.  He came to Bloomington last February, but being really pregnant at that point, a concert seemed like a bad idea.  I had seen Miranda before too.  Mel and I saw her in Bloomington in September 2011.  She was also good, but not nearly the showperson that Dierks is.

Dierks Bentley between songs

Dierks Bentley between songs

 

My mom came up for the night to watch Tyler.  Unfortunately, he’s been cranky and grouchy most of the weekend (teething), so she didn’t really get to have much fun with him.  Eric and I were very thankful she came up though.  We both really enjoyed the night out.  We went out to supper at Prairie Fire before the show and then headed over to the Assembly Hall to wait for the show to begin.

During Up on the Ridge they played scenes that looked like they were "up on a ridge"

During Up on the Ridge they played scenes that looked like they were “up on a ridge”. Possibly my favorite song of the entire show.

We had really good seats.  We were on the floor in the first row, of a slightly raised up area.  They were really good seats.  Even though there was a general admission area, I figured Eric and I were too old to be in that area (and standing up the entire night) at this point!

Miranda singing Fastest Girl in Town.

Miranda singing Fastest Girl in Town.

Eric “cowboyed” himself up for the show (which I forgot to get a picture of the two of us.)  Even though I begged him not to, he wore his cowboy hat, belt buckle and boots.  I broke out my boots too.

At the end Dierks and Miranda sang Bad Angel together.

At the end Dierks and Miranda sang Bad Angel together.

It was a really great night for both Eric and me.  We had a great time, and we’ve also had a great weekend with Tyler really starting to walk (and him teething which hasn’t been so great.)  Hopefully some video of Tyler walking coming in the next post (if I can ever manage to have my phone nearby when he decides to walk!)

 

2 thoughts on “Fiddlin’ Around

  1. shellmay99

    That concert was one of my favorites! I think we acted like a bunch of junior high kids, oh memories! We had lots of good concerts!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

