Does shoveling snow count as exercise?

I thought I’d give an update on my New Year’s resolutions as we’ve made it 1/6 of the way through 2013 now!

1. Blogging.  Well I think it’s fairly obvious that I’ve been doing ok with this.  I don’t always get my 2 posts in a week, but it’s close enough.  Honestly, my life isn’t exciting enough for 2 posts most weeks anyway!  So I’m going to call this one a success!

2. A New Hobby.  I’ve definitely taken up sewing.  Honestly if I had more time, I’d probably be doing it pretty constantly at this point.  I’ve created Tyler’s pennant, which I can’t wait to see hanging over his crib after this weekend.  Also, I made a chair cushion (only 1 I still need 2 before I’m willing to share it here.)  Sewing is hard, but I’m getting better.  It’s definitely been helping my math skills as well.  Beyond the crafty side, I’ve also been learning more Javascript at work which I think will make me more marketable at some point and time.

And now we get to the things I’m less successful at…

3.  Eating Better.  I’ve realized the past few days just how badly I’ve been doing at this.  Even though I continue to track during the day I have a hard time doing this at night.  I’ve definitely been incorporating more fruits and veggies in my diet, but I certainly haven’t cut down on the sweets.  I think I might have an addiction to sugar.  I get cravings throughout the day!  I also realized that Eric isn’t the best influence in my eating habits (i.e. wanting to eat out a lot more than we really need to be).  So I need to get back in the mind set of eating better.  Letting myself eat whatever for the last well year and 3 months really is a hard thing to overcome, but I need to be successful if I want Tyler to eat well too now that he’s on more table foods.

4. Exercising.  Besides the weekends, it’s really a crap shoot whether I get any exercise in during the week.  For the last 3 weeks or so I’ve really tried to get more exercise in by doing a 15 min “routine” I found on Pinterest.  To be honest the first day I tried it, I was sore for the next 3 days.  That means it’s a good workout!  I’ve only tried it 2 times though.  I need to make it at least a twice a week thing.  I also have been meaning to get up at 5am to run for half an hour before it’s time for work.  It’s become really hard to force myself out of bed that early though, especially when Tyler has rough nights (teething and colds have really hit us hard lately).  My current goal is trying to get some kind of exercise twice a week outside of the weekends.  Tonight I shoveled my half of the driveway, and I’m totally counting that!

I think for these last two I just need to become more accountable in someway, to myself and probably to someone else.  Seeing my weight during our “physicals” for life insurance this week really drove that point home.

So as for my resolutions, I’m kicking butt on two of them and not so much on the other two.  Luckily I’ve still got 10 months to figure it all out and be successful on all 4 fronts.  Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

